Sixteen(16) candidates emerged from Banjul for the parliamentary elections



Sixteen aspiring candidates to contest for the upcoming parliamentary elections in the capital city of Banjul has been successfully been nominated. This was confirmed Sunday 12 March 2017, after the closure of the nomination date of the IEC at the regional office in Banjul.


Six candidates emerged from Banjul North and for the other two constituency Banjul central and South have 5 candidates each. The following are the candidates who were nominated by the IEC: APRC: Hon.Babucarr Nyang Banjul South Constituency, Hon. Abdoulie Saine for Banjul Central constituency.

GDC : Aziz Paboy Frazer for Banjul South, Haddijatou Forbes for Banjul Central, and Momodou ABS Njie for Banjul North

PPP: Fatoumatta Njie for Banjul South and MUHAMMED NDOW for Banjul Central.

UDP: Mbye Babucarr Manneh Banjul South, Ebrima Pesseh Njie Banjul Central and Modou Lamin Bah Banjul north constituency

PDOIS: Ousman Sillah for Banjul north constituency. Independent candidates Mbye Babucarr Sarr Banjul South, Ebony Jeng Banjul Central , Samba Njie Banjul North, Pa Ousman Cham Banjul north. Nomination was done by the Commission member for Banjul Isatou Jallow Ndure assisted by Dankunku Damfa Regional Electoral officer Banjul and Sulayman Sarkiss Assistant Regional Electoral officer and Abdoulie Jeng director of operations IEC.

Madam Isatou Jallow Ndure during the nomination process vetted all the documents brought by the aspiring candidates ranging from Tax clearance certificate, asset declaration forms, nomination fees of D5000, photo and symbol of candidates among other relevant documents. Madam Ndure advised candidates to respect each other and abide by the code of ethics of the IEC. “candidates should try and sensitize their supporters not to use abusive languages that can cause violence” She asserted. She further stressed that candidates should try and do their campaign but at all cost should maintain the peace.



About Author

Leave A Reply